History of St. Peter’s Church
The history of St. Peter’s Church dates back to 1,270 when King Henry III granted patronage of the church to the Bishop of Cork. St. Peter’s church was deconsecrated in 1949.
Learn about the renovation of this church throughout the ages and discover the traces of antiquity which still remain. Don’t miss the 17th Century baptismal font and the 18th Century monument of Sir Matthew Deane; within this chamber is a brief history of the church and some intriguing tales of past patrons.
The building remained dilapidated until 1988 when Cork City Council took on the task of restoring this historic building as a public cultural facility. In 2016 the facility management company L.W. Management were awarded the management contract for St. Peter’s to be operated as a public visitor space in Cork City Centre.