Filter Café and St. Peter’s bring a boost to Cork’s oldest street.
Filter café open their second location in St. Peter’s Church, North Main Street on Tuesday the 5th of July. Filter café on Georges Quay in the city is one of Cork’s trendiest cafés and a vital pit stop for coffee lovers far and wide. The new venture and unique location nestled into the historic walls of St. Peter’s will be named Portafilter.
St. Peter’s, formerly known as the Cork Vision Centre has had a very busy year hosting a variety of public exhibitions and events throughout 2016 as part of Cork’s 1916 Centenary Programme. The space also caters for many private events including theatre shows, dance & music performances as well as a number of private launches. This iconic yet quirky events space has teamed up with Filter café to give North Main Street the (caffeine) boost it needs!
The new café will be open in line with the exhibition centres opening times 6 days a week. St. Peter’s is a free public exhibition space that hope to add a new dynamic for visitors through this enterprising partnership.
North Main Street has been in the news lately due to the closure of Dunnes Stores back in May. Local business owners have been worried about the drop in footfall to the area as a result. But with a new vibrant café opening in one of Cork’s most historic buildings this could be the start of something great for North Main Street.