HISTORY OF ST.PETER'S CORK
The history of St. Peter’s Church dates back to 1,270 when King Henry III granted patronage of the church to the Bishop of Cork. St. Peter’s church was deconsecrated in 1949.
The building remained dilapidated until 1988 when Cork City Council took on the task of restoring this historic building as a public cultural facility. In 2016 the facility management company LeisureWorld we awarded the management contract for St. Peter’s to be operated for 2016 as Cork’s Centre of Commemoration for the 1916 centenary programme.
Our vision at St. Peter’s is to create a unique collaboration space in the heart of Cork City that can be used by all. St Peter’s is rich in history, culture and one of Cork’s oldest buildings.
Our aim is to keep this venue accessible to all that may wish to utilise it. From public exhibitions, corporate functions, music and arts events, community and charity gatherings, weddings and more we open our doors and interact with a large cross section of the population in Cork, Ireland and beyond.
St. Peter’s was formerly known as the Cork Vision Centre which closed it’s doors in late 2015. In 2016 the doors reopened under new management.
St. Peter’s Cork is operated by the management company LeisureWorld in Cork. LeisureWorld prides itself on excellent facility management through excellence in customer service and building a strong team to run it’s facilities.
Phone: 086 194 5080
Phone: 086 704 2072